Uncle General

My Uncle made the list to make General. HOLY CRAP! That’s HUGE!! Especially in this day in age. W O W! I’m so beyond excited for not only him, but also my aunt and two cousins. I know they’ve moved around a lot and they’ve dealt with him being in Iraq and Afghanistan so it really is a family celebration. I’m so proud of him and all that he has done, and all that he will continue to do. :) I took the following from a news release a few years ago when my Uncle briefed a Congressman from New Jersey about Iraq. I wanted to share this because I can’t put it into better words:

WASHINGTON, D.C. – Congressman Frank A. LoBiondo (NJ-2) yesterday, along with the House Armed Services Committee, received an update on U.S. military performance and progress in Iraq and Afghanistan from Colonel Michael Linnington, a former brigade commander for the Army’s 101st Airborne Division. Colonel Linnington, who grew up in Cape May, was joined by three other recent front line commanders in Iraq and Afghanistan as part of a hearing on progress and performance of our servicemembers in Iraq and Afghanistan.

“Colonel Linnington represents the best and brightest our nation has to offer,” said Rep. LoBiondo. “It was with great pride that I welcomed him to Capitol Hill yesterday to hear first hand how troops on the front lines are doing. Col. Linnington’s proud service in both the Afghanistan and Iraq conflicts brings a unique perspective about the conditions and performance of our military in both places. He is a shining example of the men and women who are performing with bravery and honor in multiple theaters around the world in the fight against global terrorism.”

w o w — just think, this is the guy who challenges me with those brain teasers over family dinners and offers to help me with my math homework. Awesome. Totally, awesome.

Leave a Reply

