connections

This week has been a series of connections for me, and for that I am grateful. I got back in touch with Liz this week, and it’s been awesome. Liz was probably my first “real” best friend. Back in 9th grade we became inseparable and were best friends until our early twenties. We sort of had a falling out back in 2000, and even though we stopped talking, I never did forget her. The other day on MySpace, I randomly decided to search for her, and there she was. She hadn’t logged in since November, but there she was. I took the chance and requested her as my “friend”, and emails have been flying back and forth ever since. Ever since we’ve gotten back in touch, we’ve had a flurry of communication trying to catch up as quickly as possible. We haven’t talked in five years, but somehow, it feels like she was never gone. I guess that’s just a connection that never goes away, and for that, I am thankful.

I came back down to Carolina yesterday for a job interview I had today. How was the interview you wonder? Fantastic. Honestly, I don’t think it could have gone any better then it did. I spoke with the VP of Administration for a good 45 minutes, and then he asked me if I could speak with the Director of Admin, who I would report to directly. After hearing the job description, the culture of the company, and the salary, I decided that I want this job. I mean, not because I’ve been unemployed for 5 weeks, but because I can see myself at this company, I can see myself doing this job, and I can see myself truly enjoying the position. They had 150 people apply, called 12 for interviews, and have a few more people to speak with tomorrow. Hopefully I will hear something by Friday afternoon. Keep your fingers crossed for me. I haven’t wanted something this bad in a long while.

NASCAR stuff starts this weekend. For those of you who think I’m a redneck hick, you can just stop reading now. I’m super pumped about the Budweiser Shootout and Gatorade Duels. Love it love it love. Elliott didn’t have the best of years last year so I’m excited to see how he is going to do this year. Hopefully they learned a lot from what went wrong last season and can learn from it.

Anyway, thats about all for now. I’ll post more when I hear about the job.

Leave a Reply

