celebrity status?

When did celebrities become famous for being famous? I mean, who are these people who make no creative contribution to our world, but get all the perks of a rockstar or A-List actor? Obviously Paris Hilton is the best example, but lately, I’m seeing more and more of it. Nicole Richie, Kimberly Stewart, Brittany Gastineau…I. Don’t. Get. It. Gastineau Girls might be the worst TV show on television, but somehow it made Brittany and her nasty old mother famous…but for what? Being spoiled and bratty? Ugh.

Then, I wonder about celebrities who started off in a creative realm, but who have moved out of that and into just “I’m wonderful, worship me” world. Two people that I can think of who embody this best, are Jessica Simpson and Jennifer Lopez. It seems to me that lately they have abandoned the thing that made them famous…music, movies, and have moved onto fashion, perfumes and clothing. There’s nothing wrong with that, but, what about their fans who made them millionaries and famous to begin with?

Just a thought.

Leave a Reply

