Things that make you go hmmm….

I really don’t know how I feel about this:

Britney Spears, the sexy singer that NASCAR marketers have been trying to use as a promotional tool for the sport, may be back in the stock-car scene, according to NASCAR sources that report that Brian France is pushing to have Spears listed as a part owner of a Cup team, possibly with wealthy Indy-car team owner Carl Haas. According to one man familiar with the situation, car owner Cal Wells could be the beneficiary. Wells said yesterday that NASCAR executives have been working with him on some options but said that Haas and Spears weren’t part of that project. NASCAR, in 2002, had hopes that Spears would play a role in a racing movie. Now plans for that movie may be dusted off and revived.

Image hosted by Photobucket.com

With the way she’s been presenting herself lately (trashy), I’m sure that NASCAR thinks that she would be a big appeal to the sport. That, and every guy in America thinks she’s hot…but, NASCAR has been doing such a great job of getting more “mainstream” and less “redneck” these last few years. Aghhhhhhhhhh, her being an owner would be such a step in the wrong direction.

I saw this tonight, and I had to say something about it. From et.tv.

TOM CRUISE has made headlines in recent weeks for speaking out on everything from Scientology to psychiatric drugs. Tom’s supporters and friends, like “JAG” alum CATHERINE BELL and ‘Sky High’ star KELLY PRESTON, come out in defense of the superstar.

“I think he’s so cool for standing up,” Bell told ET about his war of the words over post partum medication.

Preston, the wife of JOHN TRAVOLTA (and practicing Scientologist) had some choice words about Cruise as well, whom she co-starred with in ‘Jerry Maguire’ and his recent run-ins with BROOKE SHIELDS and “Today” show host MATT LAUER. Kelly sat down with ET’s MARK STEINES to speak out about supporting Tom and his strong statements about psychiatric drugs.

“It’s no coincidence that in the last two weeks, there have been two huge FDA warnings,” says Kelly. “We wouldn’t have these warnings without Tom and others speaking out.”

The actress says that she and friend KIRSTIE ALLEY thanked the Food and Drug Administration (FDA) for issuing warnings that some psychiatric drugs may create such side effects as hallucinations, violence and suicide. But Kelly says they want more; they want all doctors to report instances of these affects.

“It’s a big issue,” Kelly emphasizes. “You’ve got only one percent of doctors who are reporting these things … We’re drugging our kids for normal childhood behaviors.”

Tom Cruise (who recently got engaged to KATIE HOLMES) encountered flak for comments he made about Brooke’s use of prescription medication to battle post-partum depression. Tom also got into a heated debate with Matt over the issue and questioned the TV host’s understanding of the history of psychiatry. Tom, following the tenets of Scientology, says he believes that there are alternatives to psychiatric drugs used to handle depression, and says there is no such thing as chemical imbalances that need to be corrected with drugs; that depression can be treated with exercise and vitamins. In a war of words, Brooke, who says she recovered with the help of medication, called Tom’s remarks “a disservice to mothers everywhere.”

In a recent interview, Kelly defended Tom’s comments about Brooke, saying, “If you’re going to be advocating drugs, which she does in her book, you need to be responsible for also telling the people of the potential risks.” She also said that Tom’s debate with Matt was “very helpful because it’s just raised awareness. People are talking about it now, and that’s what they should be … Whatever your political, social or religious background, this is an issue that affects all of us. It is not just a Scientology issue.”

I am so effing tired of famous people using their celebrity to discuss issues that have nothing to do with their lives. Ok great Kelly Preston and Tom Cruise – you don’t believe in medication for treatment of certain things. That’s awesome – have your opinion. But, must you scream your voice for the entire world to hear? I forgot your were licesened as medical professionals to give our free advice to the general population. Parents of children, or adults taking medication for depression or other things are grown people, fully capable of making their own decisions. Plus, they have doctors and pharmacists who can advise them on the pros and cons of any medication that they might take. Ughhhh, SHUT UP ALREADY!!!

Tonight was super great. We played Tennis for an hour and a half, and according to google, I burned approximately 800 calories. Go me! I’m so going to play tennis every night….it’s so much fun.

Earlier in the evening I found myself in quite an interesting situation. I saw “casual boy” with “casual girl.” Luckly we were heading out of the parking lot so I didn’t have to deal with it face to face, but wow…kind of made me change my feelings about the whole situation with “casual boy.” The good thing is that I didn’t really feel any emotion except for “get me the hell out of here.” I knew what I was getting into when the whole thing started, so I’m pretty proud of myself for being able to be totally casual and not get any emotions involved. No sadness or hurt feelings, so that’s a great thing. Perhaps my dream from the other night was foreshadowing of tonight’s prediciment.

I think my feelings are as follows: It was fun while it lasted. I’m not heartbroken. It was what it was, and if it’s over, that’s fine. I’m not even saying if he calls it over; I’m saying I don’t even know what I want anymore.

Whatever, I’m so over it.

Image hosted by Photobucket.com

Leave a Reply

