Overrated

I found this blog online that had listed the 13 most overrated songs of all time. I have to saw I was stunned with most of their choices and reasoning!

13. Imagine, by John Lennon
I don’t see how this song could be on the list. I’m not a big Beatles or John Lennon fan, but the message of the song is pretty good. Whoever nominated this song must have no heart.
12. Chewing Gum, by Annie
Uhhhh, what?
11. Born to Run, by Bruce Springsteen
Again, I’m not a big fan of Bruce and I don’t know much about this song, so whatev.
10. Totally Wired, by the Fall
No idea what this is about.
9. I Still Haven’t Found What I’m Looking For, by U2
Okay. This one I almost laid on the floor and had a two year old like temper tantrum. Anything by U2 should NEVER be on a list of overrated anything! The song is about finding yourself and finding your life…how could that ever be overrated!
8. Bohemian Rhapsody, by Queen
This song is a staple in pop culture of not only America, but the freaking world. Queen managed to change the face of music with this song. The Rock Opera was born with Bohemian Rhapsody. Even if the lyrics don’t make much sense, the change ups in the song and the fact that they mixed so many different sounds together should count for something. The song is brilliant, as was Freddie Mercury. Great song, not overrated.
7. Memory, by Andrew Lloyd Webber
I agree. I hate this song.
6. Wonderwall, by Oasis
Okay. I don’t know what a wonderall is, but this is a good song. It’s about people who care for eachother but can’t express it. What’s better than love with walls built up?
5. Pour Some Sugar on Me, by Def Leopard
Hahah….this song should never be overrated for the simple fact that it was an awesome song in the 80’s and it’s an awesome song in the year 2005. Even if it’s only awesome to sing at the top of your lungs when you’re wasted in a cab. Pour some sugar on me, in the name of love, pour some sugar on me, come on fire me up, pour your sugar on me, i can’t get enough, i’m hot, sticky sweet, from my head to my feet yeah. This might be the most romantic song ever!
4. Hey Ya!, by Outkast
Overplayed yes, overrated no. Hey Ya! exists for pure fun value. Shake it like a polaroid picture at the club, why not? It’s fun.
3. Free Bird, by Lynard Skynard
Eh, whatevs.
2. Light my fire, by The Doors
I agree that this song is overrated. Enough said.
1. American Pie, by Don McLean
Sure, this song is something like 9 minutes long, but it’s one of the best American songs ever! The song is a tribute to Buddy Holly, Richie Valens, and the Big Bobber who all died in a plane crash many years ago, but somehow the lyrics can still make you relate to your own life. I 100% disagree that this is the number 1 overrated song ever.

Leave a Reply

